Faculty Resources

Citation Management Tools

Citation management tools enable researchers to capture bibliographic information about research materials, create bibliographies, add footnotes, and manage research collections.  Some citation management tools also make it easy to share references with other researchers.  

RefWorks

RefWorks is a web-based reference manager which allows the user to create and organize a personal database of citations to a variety of different kinds of materials.

Highlights of RefWorks include the ability to:

  • Keep your RefWorks account during your entire time as a faculty member or student at UNF
  • Import citations from online catalogs, databases, websites, etc. into your RefWorks account
  • Organize the citations in a  meaningful way for multiple research interests or class projects
  • Search your RefWorks database for citations either by author or journal title
  • Format bibliographies according to most major styles, including APA, MLA, Chicago
  • Share your RefWorks content with users at other institutions

Other Citation Management Tools

EndNote Web bibliographic software allows you to collect and organize references, format a bibliography, collaborate with others, and export references to an EndNote account.EndNote is commonly used in the sciences because it has several built-in science databases.

EasyBib is an automatic bibliography composer.  When you have sources you need to cite properly for a research paper, EasyBib will help format the sources quickly and accurately.  Millions of students use EasyBib to cite sources for their papers.

Zotero is a free, open source ctiation manager that works as a browser plugin and also as a stand alone applicaiton on your computer. Zotero's browser plugins can automatically extract citation information from websites, library catalogs, databases, and more.  It also allows users to save PDFs, images, screenshots and notes along with the citation records.

 

 

Subjects: Library Information
Tags: course reserves, doi, faculty, ILL, impact factors, instruction, interlibrary loan, library instruction, library liaisons, streaming video, video, workshops