This is the "Introduction" page of the "Ancient Near East" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Ancient Near East   Tags: anthropology, history, near east  

Find information related to archaeology, artifacts, ancient cities, rulers, and more.
Last Updated: May 15, 2012 URL: http://libguides.unf.edu/ancientneareast Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 

Ask a Question!

 

UNF Library Catalog

Search the UNF Library catalog for books, cds, government documents, periodicals, etc.

 

Contact Us!

 Call us
 (904) 620-2616
         Desk Hours


 Text your question
 (904) 507-4122



Email Us
 
  We'll answer within 24 hours.


Chat with a Librarian

 

Welcome

"Between Europe and the Middle East, at the eastern edge of the Mediterranean Sea, lies the region known as the Near East. The area includes the countries of Israel, Lebanon, Jordan, and Syria. It is the birthplace of some of the world’s oldest civilizations and has close ties with three major religions – Judaism, Christianity, and Islam."   The Near East. (2009). In Geography of the World within the Credo Reference Database.

This guide will help you begin your research on the Ancient Near East.  In your quest for information, you may be conducting research on ancient cities, rulers, maps, writings, archaeological discoveries, or art.  Use the blue tabs at the top to navigate to relevant pages.

 

Featured Reference Titles

Cover Art
Archaeological Encyclopedia of the Holy Land
Call Number: Reference - 2nd floor Reference Collection -- DS111.A2A73 2001
The text consists of 800 entries, running a few paragraphs to two or three pages in length and arranged alphabetically by the name of the site or subject (e.g., "Ivory" or "Shells").

Cover Art
Dictionary of the Ancient Near East
Call Number: Reference - 2nd floor Reference Collection -- DS56.D5 2000
This dictionary also includes a map, a chronological chart, and king lists.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the Ancient World
Call Number: Reference - 2nd floor Reference Collection -- CB311.E54 2002
This fully illustrated three volume set covers world cultures from prehistory through the year 700 C.E. It includes time lines and guides for pronunciation, geography, and word usage included.

Cover Art
The Cambridge Ancient History
Call Number: Reference - 2nd floor Reference Collection -- D57.C25 v.^^^1982
There are multiple years and holdings for this title. Click on the title to view the catalog records.

Cover Art
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt
Call Number: Reference - 2nd floor Reference Collection -- DT58.O94 2001
This three volume text includes entries covering religion, mythology, medicine, art, archaeology, sociology, trade and commerce, dialects, and agriculture.

Cover Art
Who's Who in the Ancient Near East
Call Number: Online Ebooks and Reference - 2nd floor -- DS61.5.L45 1999
The majority of the entries cover kings and local rulers. Also includes maps, a glossary, an outline of the main historical periods, and specialized indexes of personal names, toponyms and rulers, dynasties, peoples, and tribes.

Librarian

Profile Image
Lauren Newton
Contact Info
(904) 620-1531
Send Email
Degrees:
MLIS, University of South Carolina BA History, University of Florida
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip