Advertising, Marketing, & Public Relations

Resources for advertising, marketing, and public relations students

Contact Us

Call Us (904) 620-2616
Text Us (904) 507-4122
Email Us

Social Media

Visit us on social media!

OneSearch

Basics

ABOUT THE LIBRARY – The Thomas G. Carpenter Library is a 199,000 square foot research facility located at the University of North Florida. While other universities might have branch libraries, UNF has one central facility. Providing study and work space for 2000 people, the library has print collections in excess of 840,000 volumes, media collections that include over 30,000 items, over 2,000 print magazine, newspaper, and journal subscriptions, over 30,000 electronic magazines, newspapers, and journals, over 50,000 electronic books, and 1.5 million microformat materials. Through its subscriptions to over 200 research databases, the library is able to support academic study and research in practically any discipline.

LIBRARY ACCESS – Information about and access to the library’s collections are available via the library’s webpage at http://www.unf.edu/library. Access to the library’s databases is available anywhere on and off campus 24/7 by login. UNF researchers seeking access to library electronic collections off campus can log in from the library’s main page by clicking the gold key and supplying their N number and password or by logging in to their myWings account and following the links to the library. Access to databases is restricted by license only to current UNF affiliates (currently enrolled students and currently employed faculty and staff).

LIBRARY DATABASES – By far the most heavily used resources available through the library, library databases offer researchers the ability to search for materials in a multitude of disciplines. In terms of library research, a database is usually a searchable index or collection of articles from books, magazines, newspapers, and journals. In most cases, even if a database does not offer full text of the materials that it indexes, it will provide an abstract or summary and enough description of the resource to help the researcher determine its usefulness to a project. Databases also include dictionaries, directories, encyclopedias, and other specialized collections of information ranging from demographics to company profiles and statistics. A full listing of library databases is available from the library’s website or by going directly to http://www.unf.edu/library/databases/.

Librarian

Maria Atilano
Contact:
Marketing and Outreach Librarian
Public Services

(904) 620-1564
Subjects: Public Relations
Tags: adv3101, advertising, class guide, marketing, public relations, pur3100